A Flower Does Not Think of Competing with The Flower Next to It. It Just Bloom

​Have you ever looked at someone and immediately compared yourself to them?

My guess is that almost everyone has done this, and done it many times. Think about how many times in a day, a week or month you do this?  You notice her and instantly start picking her apart and comparing her highlights to your lowlights, her success to your failure. You look at them and think “I wish I was as skinny as her” or “I wish I had clothes as nice as hers.”. We constantly look at the hers and judge ourselves on how we measure up – am I right?

I think somewhere in life we were taught to compete: for men, for attention, for success, for jobs.  We look at her and see where we measure up (you know, on the totem pole).  Are we more successful, prettier, stronger, a better mom?  We forget that we are all in this together and instead of raising one another up, we tear one another down.

No one ever made themselves great by making someone else feel small (that includes yourself!). There’s no point in comparing myself to others and just putting myself down. Females are just so pretty! I mean come on! We’re curvy and soft and feminine/masculine at the same time. Nothing wrong with appreciating that. There’s so much more to a person than their outer beauty, anyway!

Admire someone else’s beauty without questioning your own.

I came across this quote the other day that really hit home with me.  I haven’t come up with an official name for it but you all know what I am talking about – it’s like a totem pole that we are trying to climb as women, as competitors (gasp!) that doesn’t have an end in sight but we continue to climb this made up game of trying to leap frog over one other to get to the invisible finish line (for the record there is no finish line, or prize – I looked into it). 

As women we can be so critical of ourselves. We feel pressure to look great, dress nice, and be “put-together” all the time. Everyone is beautiful, and they are beautiful in their own way. Us women need to be supportive of each other and compliment and admire each other’s beauty without comparing it to our own. We are all so beautifully different!

What if instead of competing with one another we celebrate and let their success be a reflection of our own potential. 

Being confident in yourself is one of the best things you can be!

I circled back to this quote:

A flower does not think of competing with the flower next to it. it just bloom.
With Love,

Vivi Erma

Leave a Reply

